Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 23rd, 2007


Today I weigh 98 kilos exactly, so I have lost 27.4 kilos, and it is really funny, because yesterday I ate a lot of food. Well, for me it was a lot of food anyway. A small glass of juice, Melba toast, a piece of Comté cheese, a pear, half a small honeydew melon, some nuts and raisins, some more Melba toast and a tall glass of milk. That’s about double what I eat normally. The Comté cheese belonged to Eduard. I was craving cheese and had none left of my own and just had to have some, so I borrowed some of his. I shared the nuts and raisins with Jesker, he liked the nuts, but didn’t care for the raisins. He also liked the honeydew melon. He just has to have some of my food when I am having it and he tries everything I eat. I’m surprised he ate the melon, but it was really good. It wasn’t quite ripe all the way through yet, but I scooped most of it out. I think eating a little bit more gets my metabolism going and actually makes me lose weight. How is that for a theory? Does anyone else have any experience with this? I made a wish before I went on the scales and it almost came true. I wanted to be below 98.1 kilos, what I weighed yesterday, but I was hoping for something like 97.8, but 98 kilos is okay too. As long as I am going down.

Yesterday was a totally unexciting day, but I suppose that you have to have days like that also. I wasn’t bored, it’s just that nothing really happened.I got dressed and put my jewelry on, but then I just washed my face and didn’t put on any make up. I did a load of laundry and cleaned up the kitchen and did some other chores, but mostly I felt like just hanging out and watching programs on TV that I had missed the night before on the repeats during the day. Outside it was a beautiful day and the dog and I hung out on the field a bit at noon time. Soon enough, Eduard came home and I made a pot of Earl Grey tea. It’s becoming a nice habit to have tea in the afternoon. We take turns having the three different teas on different days. Today we will have Irish Breakfast and tomorrow Rooibos.

Then I spent some time in the afternoon calling different numbers trying to get our digital TV set up to work to also receive the movie channels, which had been stopped. I got sent from one person to the next and in the end I had to sign myself up again via the website, which I had done to start with and which I don’t think will work, but lets hope for the best. It takes 3 to 5 days to start up, so I will give it 5 days and then call again, or send the postcard that came with the installation packet, which may be the easiest thing to do after all. Maybe snail mail in this case is the fastest way to get the thing done.

Then my daughter called halfway through the proceedings, so that was a nice break from it all and we had a nice chat. I always like it very much when she calls me with the latest news and when she discusses all of her ideas with me. That way we can think together and two heads are better than one. She is in love with a very special person, and although I have not met him yet, I like him already and, so far, he is doing everything I have expected him to do, so he is a winner in my book. This is most definitely a serious relationship and I think she can put all of her energy into this one to make it work.

By the way, we have a good system for making phone calls. She calls me and lets my phone ring once. Then I know it is she, and I can call her back through a special number for long distance phone calls. Then the long distance phone call only costs me two cents per minute, so that is not bad at all. Plus I pay the charge for the special number that I call, which is inside the country, which is very little. It would be prohibitive for her to call me long distance all the time, she wouldn’t be able to afford it.

Anyway, for her I light candles and pray, because she is my most precious possession. I want all the positive energy that comes out of the prayer to go directly to her and to her special person and to all the special people around her who are involved. I want all of God’s positive forces to surround her and those around her, and help her have a happy life. If anyone deserves it, it is she. She has already been through the School of Hard Knox. I think that is how you say that. But you get my meaning. She is a beautiful and intelligent woman who needs to be with a loving and appreciative, loyal man, and maybe she has found him now.

I have a good marriage and have never had anyone as a partner who is quite like Eduard. I measure all other men by him. In the first place Eduard is someone who very unselfishly treats me with a lot of respect and consideration. He is always loyal to me and always considers my best interests. Now, this makes him sound perfect and, of course, he isn’t. But for me he is the perfect husband, and that is what is important. I always feel that he is on my side, that he is my friend and that he will never purposely hurt me. As a matter of fact, he will go out of his way not to. In return I am always loyal to him and I try to be his best friend and he is my best partner always, before anyone else. I never stop appreciating what I have and how lucky I am. He accepts me with all my quirks and I accept him with all his quirks. Together we are the odd couple, but not so odd that we are strange, we are just a bit unique. I imagine us growing very old together with lots of love between us, and we have been married almost 14 years and I feel that the love grows every year. I love him more now than I did that first year, and I think that it is supposed to be that way. I can’t imagine a life without him.

Eduard had to work last night, so I had my normal little routine of TV watching when I am home all by myself. The time passes quickly that way. I forgot to watch a new series that started. It is situated in the part of the country that Eduard is from originally and some of it is in dialect, which no doubt will require subtitles. A famous comedian also plays in it and it should be very good, so I have to try and remember to watch it tonight. It comes on just when the sport news comes on and I have no interest in that anyway, so I may as well switch channels. I also happen to love that dialect, because it is almost exactly the same as the one spoken in the place I come from, because it is all Saxon. Above the rivers and to the north east is Saxon. Above the rivers and to the north west is Frisian, which is a separate language, which you really need to learn to understand.

Anyway, while the 8 o’clock news was on, I made cigarettes and was amazed again at the violence taking place in Lebanon, as if there is no end to it. And then there is the discussion about the ordinary light bulb which should be replaced by the much more ecologically sound new light bulb. Do you force people to, or do they make their own choice? Eduard and I replace our light bulbs with the more ecologically sound one as often as we can. We have one lamp for which we can’t do this yet, so we are thinking of replacing the lamp, because it gets used a lot and uses a lot of energy. We also have halogen lamps, which are good to use also, I have been told.

But, like I said, the news should last longer, because the programs that come after that are not always that interesting. The best programs are on later in the night, when a lot of people have already gone to bed. At least those people who have to get up on time, or otherwise I don’t see how they get enough sleep. The best talk shows come on later, they are a mixture of news, politics and entertainment. It’s a good thing that some of the programs are repeated the next day, because I do get to watch some that are interesting, although there is some junk in t
here too. There is a program about royalty, called Blue Blood, which I find absolutely uninteresting, but is good for lovers of any sort of royalty, even foreign ones. You just get pictures of kings and queens and princes and princesses planting trees and opening museums, without any sound mostly, so it isn’t much. I am interested in the queen, but what I want to know about her, will never be on the news or in the papers. Such as, what does she really think politically and how does she stand on all the important issues? Now she can never speak her mind and that is what I am curious about. What does she think of all the adoration of her people? Does she ever get tired of us and being queen and having to smile and be kind all the time? And being so damn neutral, without picking sides? I wonder why she never puts her foot down and decide not to go along with the program because it doesn’t please her. She easily could.

Today I am going downtown to meet my friend Lucien. I haven’t seen her for about 4 years and I hope that I remember what she looks like. No, just kidding, she will be the one wearing a red tulip in her lapel. Eduard has given me the last of the household money. Pay day is tomorrow, poor guy. I don’t want to spend it, but I know that I can if I want to. I also have to pick up my handbag at V&D. Hopefully, it has been properly fixed. Today is the open air market and I know that Lucien wants to look at some things there. They always have very well priced clothing there, if you don’t mind the crowd and not have the possibility to try things on. I like looking at the stands with all the different kinds of seafood. I have been told that people come from miles around to buy seafood for their restaurants there. They come all the way from Germany and France. I’ll see what their salmon costs if I get a chance. It is always harder to shop with two people, than it is to shop by yourself. Last week there were a lot of tourists in town, because of the holidays, we’ll see how it is today. Monday morning it was very quiet, but most of the stores were still closed when I was there.

Jesker is asleep on his pillow and the cats aren’t active yet, so I have a little bit of time left to drink my coffee and sit here behind the computer. I do appreciate having this slow start in the morning. Outside, the workers are already busy with the road again. I really hope they are closing up the street now and that they are going to lay down the new pavement. It will be nice to have the street functioning again and the street that runs at a right angle to it. That one has been closed forever while they were building the new houses. I am very curious to see what sort of people are going to be moving in. I am sure the houses aren’t cheap and as far as I know, they have all been sold already.

Well, I’ve got to go and read the news for a bit and see what is happening in the world before I go and start the day properly. I am sure I will have a nice day today and I am planning on stopping by the basilica. I am going by bus to spare my poor toe. Have a good one people, ciao…

P.S. It is really nice out. Jesker and I went for our walk and much to my surprise, he sort of attacked another dog. It was nothing serious, but it sure surprised me, because he has never done that before. It was sort of a dog that looked like a mop, grey colored and it must have been a boy. It’s not a dog that we normally see there. I wonder what Jesker’s problem was and if we see him again, I will have to put Jesker on the leash.

Anyway, it’s going to be a beautiful day and it sure doesn’t look like there is going to be any of the rain that was predicted. Yesterday afternoon we didn’t have any rain either, just some thunder and that was it. I really feel like going into town and walking around a bit, in spite of my toe. I’ll just have to make the best of it.

Read Full Post »